Technical Planning Committee Meeting

NIRPC Lake Michigan Room, 6100 Southport Road, Portage May 8, 2018


Chairman Kevin Breitzke called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and self-introductions. Members present included Kevin Breitzke, Geof Benson, George Topoll, David Wright, Mark O’Dell, Kelly Wenger, Tom MacLennan, Margot Sabato, Kay Nelson, Susan Weber, Tyler Kent, Dean Button, Beth Shrader and Stephen Stofko. Others present included Jerry Siska, Bruce Lindner, Jeff Huet, Chris Moore, Jake Dammarell, Doug Ferguson, Claudia Taylor and Andrew Steele. Joyce Newland of the Federal Highway Administration participated via conference phone. Staff present included Mitch Barloga, Trey Wadsworth, Kathy Luther, Scott Weber, James Winters, Eman Ibrahim, Gabrielle Biciunas, and Mary Thorne.

The INDOT participation survey was available at the table in the lobby.

The minutes of the April 10, 2018 Technical Planning Committee meeting were approved on a motion by Geof Benson and a second by Beth Shrader.

There were no public comments.

Implementation Planning

Trey Wadsworth led the committee’s review and discussion on the 2050 Plan Vision and Goals. Many suggestions were submitted on wordsmithing. Staff will incorporate the suggestions from all NIRPC committees into the plan.


Charles Bradsky presented Resolution 18-10, Amendment 13 to the FY 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program for three local projects which were vetted and supported by the Transportation Resource & Oversight Committee. On a motion by Dean Button and a second by Kay Nelson, the Technical Planning Committee recommended Resolution 18-10, Amendment 13 to the FY 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program to the Commission for adoption.

Topical Committee Reports:

The next Technical Planning Committee meeting is June 12 at 9 a.m. at NIRPC. Hearing no other business, Kevin Breitzke adjourned the meeting at 10:25 a.m.

A Digital MP3 of this meeting is filed. Contact Mary Thorne at the phone number or email below should you wish to receive a copy or a portion of it.

The Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission (NIRPC) prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, marital status, familial status, parental status, sexual orientation, genetic information, political beliefs, reprisal, or because all or part of an individual’s income is derived from any public assistance program.